Call Recorder users and permissions

In order to view call recordings, users must first be added to the application and have subscribers assigned to them. Only the Group Administrator has the ability to add new Users to the application. A primary Group Administrator may add other Group Administrators. When a new user is added, the application will automatically email them a password. Users have the ability to change their passwords at any time. However, in the event that they forget their password, they can contact the Group Administrator who can reset their password from the User Maintenance screen.

This article describes how to set up users and permissions in the Call Recorder End User Interface, and in particular, the following tasks:

Prerequisites

Group Administrator access is required to carry out the following tasks. 

The Group Administrator must be logged into the Call Recorder End User Interface.

 

Setting up users and permissions

Adding a new user

  1. Click the Organisation tab and select Users.

The User Maintenance page opens.

  1. From the bottom of the User Maintenance page, select the Add New User link.
  2. Enter the following information about the new user:
  • Login ID – enter user's first initial and last name (for example: efink).
  • Email Address – enter user's email address.
  • Contact Name – enter user's name.
  1. Select at least one subscriber to associate with the user by clicking in the corresponding option box.
  2. Click Add User.

Editing or updating a user

  1. Click the Organisation tab and select Users.

The User Maintenance page opens.

  1. Select the user to be edited or updated and click User Name.

The Profile Information page opens.

  1. Update User information as required. For example:
  • Company Name – enter the user's company name
  • Group Admin – If the new user is to be a Group Admin then click in the Group Admin box and determine whether or not they will automatically be assigned new subscribers by clicking in the Automatically assign new subscribers option box. 

If Group Admin is selected, then the Admin User Tasks section appears. By default, all Admin User Tasks are activated or selected for this user. You can deselect tasks by clicking in the applicable option box. Admin User Tasks include the following:

  • Delete Calls – allows Group Administrators to delete calls from the Recorded Calls tab.
  • Edit Users – allows Group Administrators to create and edit new and existing users in the End User Interface.
  • Edit Organisation – allows Group Administrators to add, edit, and delete employees and departments within the organisation structure.
  • View Screen Recordings – allows the Group Administrators to access the screen recording functionality in order to view and play back screen recordings.
  • Access Audio Mining – allows the Group Administrators to create audio mining packs and apply them to recorded calls.
  • Access the Recycle Bin – allows the Group Administrators access to the Recycle Bin tab to recover, download, or permanently delete calls in marked for deletion.
  • Edit Subscribers – allows the Group Administrators to edit the recording criteria and application features of subscribers assigned to users.
  • Edit Recording Policies – allows the Group Administrators to view, create, and edit recording policies. 
  • Access Evaluations – allows the Group Administrators access the call handler evaluation functionality in order to create evaluations to assign to recorded calls.
  • FTP Access – allows the Group Administrators access to FTP into the system to download any recorded call files that belong to them. The following is an example of why the FTP option is beneficial: if you are notified that recorded calls are going to be deleted, you can use FTP to access the calls to be deleted and download them to a permanent directory at your location.

Note:
Some Admin User Tasks may not be available if they were not selected as an Application Feature when the primary Group Administrator was originally created. Additionally, even if a feature was selected at the parent level in the Administrative Portal, deselecting that Admin User Task for this Group Administrator will override the Application Feature functionality. The Group Admin functionality is useful in situations where a company needs a person or authority figure to monitor the activity of all users, but doesn't need them to have full functionality. Essentially, a read-only Group Administrator.

Note:
The primary Group Administrator will automatically inherit every subscriber that is added to this Group now and in the future. The same applies for any User that has Group Administrator privileges and the Automatically assign new subscribers option is selected.

  1. Click the Update User link at the bottom right hand corner of the page to update your selection.

Resetting a user password

  1. Click the Organisation tab and select Users.

The User Maintenance page opens.

  1. Select the user requiring a password reset and click User Name.
  2. Select Reset Password.
  3. Click OK.

Restricting user access to certain IP addresses

Using the Restrict User Access to Certain IP Addresses functionality restricts access of the users based upon their IP address. For example: if the Administrator enters the IP address of a Group and saves it, only that Group and their Users will be able to access the application from that IP address. Therefore, if User's were to try to access the application from home, they would not have access because it is not an IP address accepted by the application. Keep in mind that restricting user access to a certain IP address affects all users.

To restrict User access to certain IP addresses,

  1. Click the Organisation tab and select Users.

The User Maintenance page opens.

Applying an access restriction

  1. Select Restrict User Access to Certain IP Addresses.

The Restrict User Access to Certain IP Addresses dialog box appears.

  1. Enter the IP address to which the users are restricted.
  2. Click Add Address.
  3. Click Close to close the dialog box.

Note:
IP addresses can also contain wild cards. For example: if you want to restrict a user's access to all IPs at 123.456.78 you would add wild cards to the end of the value to appear as 123.456.78*

Removing an access restriction

  1. Select Restrict User Access to Certain IP Addresses.

The Restrict User Access to Certain IP Addresses dialog box appears.

  1. Locate the restriction to remove and click the   (Remove) button to remove the restriction
  2. Click Close to close the dialog box.

Enabling or disabling User Alerts

User Alerts displays a list of alerts created specifically by the User. Group Administrators have the ability to see the list of alerts for all Users regardless of whether their subscribers are assigned to them or not. User Alerts allows Group Administrators to temporarily disable alerts that might be high volume, disruptive, or unapproved, by user. You can enable the alert at any time or go the Alerts tab and edit or delete the alert as necessary. To disable Alerts by user, click on the specific User for which you wish to disable an alert. Locate the alert under the list of User Alerts and click Disable

Deleting a user

  1. Click the Organisation tab and select Users.

The User Maintenance page opens.

  1. Select the user to be deleted and click User Name.
  2. Select Delete User.

A message appears, confirming the delete action.

  1. Click OK.