Restoring backed up files or folders using the Agent Interface

If your protected files become lost or damaged you can use the Connected Backup Agent to retrieve a backup copy of them from the Data Centre. The Agent lets you see which versions of your files are available for retrieval and lets you select one or more of them to retrieve.

Note:
The Data Centre provides data protection and not long-term archival storage. When you delete a protected file from your computer, the Data Centre retains its copy of the file for a limited time before permanently deleting it. Your system administrator sets the Data Centre retention period for deleted files. You cannot retrieve files after the retention period expires.

Note:
When the Connected Backup Agent Interface is not available, the MyRoam web application may be used to restore previously backed up files or folders using a "web restore". Where possible however, users are advised to use the Agent Interface for restoring backed up files as it is generally much faster than MyRoam.  See article KB0010873, Restoring backed up files or folders using MyRoam, for further details if required.

This article describes how to restore backed up files or folders using the Connected Backup Agent Interface.

 

Restoring backed up files or folders using the Connected Backup Agent Interface

To restore backed up files or folders from the Connected Backup Agent Interface, proceed as follows.

  1. If the Retrieve panel is closed, then click  to open it.

Note:
You can access the Retrieve panel via the Connected Backup icon on your system taskbar. Right click on the icon then, from the pop-up menu, select Retrieve. The Retrieve panel will open.

  1. From the Show Versions drop down options, select the required file versions to be included in the restore. These may be; Most recent versions, Versions since a particular backup date, or All versions.

  1. On the Retrieve panel, locate the files you want to retrieve.

Use one of the two following methods to locate files:

  • Browse for files and folders based on user-specific library (Users node) or specific drive (Backed Up Files node).
  • Use the Search box to search for files based on full or partial file name, file extension, or modification date.

Note:
If you switch from one file locating method to the other, the Agent clears any file selections you have made.

Note:
If you deleted a library that contained items you want to retrieve, you might be able to locate them. To determine whether a file from a deleted library still exists on your computer and is therefore available for retrieval, use the Retrieve panel to either search for the file or browse to its actual location on disk. The following list identifies the location on disk where several common libraries store files:
     Documents. C:\Users\<accountName>\My Documents
     Music. C:\Users\<accountName>\My Music
     Photos. C:\Users\<accountName>\My Photos
     Videos. C:\Users\<accountName>\My Videos
Where <accountName> is the name of the user account that owned the library.

  1. Once located, select the required files or folders for retrieval.

The check box to the left of a file or folder indicates whether you have selected it for retrieval.

If you select or clear a folder selection, the action applies to all items the folder contains. However, for files with multiple versions, the action applies only to the most recent version. By default, if multiple versions of a file are available for retrieval, the Connected Backup Agent displays the most recent one. An expandable version box to the left of the file name indicates the number of versions available. For example, indicates that the file is the third of three versions available for retrieval. To select a previous version, click the version box to display all available versions, and then select the one you want to retrieve.

For example, to retrieve the second version, click , and then select the check box for the second version .

  1. When all required files or folders are selected, click

The Agent prompts you to enter your backup account password.

  1. Enter your password, and click OK.

Note:
Typically, if you enter three consecutive incorrect passwords, the Connected Backup Agent prevents additional retrieval attempts and access to the Account Management Website (MyRoam) for 20 minutes. However, the lockout process might differ, depending on the authentication method your Agent uses. For example, if you have a single sign-on account, the Identity Provider that authenticates your account controls the number of times you can enter the wrong password and what happens if you reach that limit.

The Retrieve window opens.

  1. Set the following Retrieve options:
  • Location for retrieved files
    To specify where the Agent saves retrieved files, click one of the following options:
    • Save all files in folder. The Agent retrieves files to a specific folder. To specify the folder, click the browse button, and then browse to the folder. By default, the Agent retrieves all files to this folder; it does not create subfolders to maintain the original folder structure. To retrieve files to the original folder structure within the specified folder, select the Maintain original folder structure check box.
    • Save files in their original location. The Agent retrieves files to their original location and maintains the original folder structure. The Agent creates folders as needed to recreate the original locations.
       
  • Resolution to possible file name conflicts 
    To specify what the Agent does if it retrieves a different version of a file that already exists on your computer, click one of the following options:
    • Rename the retrieved file. The Agent renames the file it retrieves to include the word Restored. For example, you choose to rename retrieved files and you retrieve two previous versions of the Budget.txt file that currently resides on your computer. The Agent renames the retrieved files to Budget Restored 1.txt and Budget Restored 2.txt. The number in the new file name helps differentiate retrieved files of the same name—it does not indicate the file version.
    • Overwrite the existing file. The Agent replaces the file on your computer with the one it retrieves. If you selected multiple versions of the file, the most recent version of those you selected replaces your current file.

Note:
To improve performance, the Connected Backup Agent does not retrieve files if an identical version exists in the destination folder. The Agent considers files identical if they have the same file name, size, and modification date.

  1. Click OK.

The Agent commences the retrieval process. While the Agent retrieves files, all other Agent options are unavailable. When retrieval is finished, the following window is displayed.

Note:
You can monitor the retrieval progress regardless of whether the Connected Backup Agent Interface is open or minimized. If the Agent Interface is open, retrieval progress appears on the Agent Interface. If the Agent Interface is minimized, point to the Agent icon in the notification area of the task bar to see the progress.

  1. When the retrieval completes, close this window by clicking Close. Alternatively view retrieval details in the Agent Interface. 

Note:
Any files that the Agent fails to retrieve appear at the beginning of the details list with a reason for the failure. If the retrieval contains more files than the Agent Interface can list, export the details to a file to view the complete list. You can review the retrieval details at any time; the Agent does not delete them.