Autotask Workplace - Moving a Project folder

 

Projects in Autotask Workplace

A Project is a primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Autotask Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access.

While Projects function mostly like any other folder, a key difference is that Projects cannot be deleted from within the Autotask Workplace folder. They may only be deleted from within Workplace Online.

If a Project is deleted from within the Workplace folder, it will only stop that Project from syncing. The Project will still be available within Workplace Online, on your other devices, and to colleagues who have been granted access to the Project.

Moving Projects in Autotask Workplace

The Autotask Workplace service sees a move as a 'copy-then-delete'. What this means is that moving a Project within the Autotask Workplace folder, will result in all the data being duplicated; the Project will be un-synced but remain in the cloud, and a copy will be created in the new location.

Files and folders contained within Projects

Files and folders within Projects operate in a more conventional manner. If you delete them, they are deleted in the Cloud. If you move them, they are moved in the Cloud. Such changes are replicated across all your devices, and across all Members of your Team that have access to the Project / folder.

This article describes how to move a Project within Autotask Workplace.

 

Moving a Project folder

To move a Project folder in Autotask Workplace, you must first copy it to the new location, and then delete it from the old location.

To move a Project folder, proceed as follows from the Workplace Online Dashboard.

  1. Click the Projects tab.

The Projects page opens.

Image ABC projects page

  1. Locate the Project folder to be moved, and tick the checkbox to the left of the required Project icon.
  2. From the Menu options that appear, click Copy.

The Copy: <Project folder name> page opens.

  1. As required, select one of these two options:
    1. Copy to a new project – If this option is selected, then a new textbox opens to the right of the radio button title.
      1. In the textbox, enter a name for the new Project.

The Copy button at the bottom of the page becomes active.

  1. Click Copy.

The Copy page closes and the list of Projects in the Projects tab appears. The new Project folder appears in the list of Projects. The content of the moved folder is copied into the destination folder, and now exists in the original Project folder location and, as a duplicate, in the new Project folder.

  1. Copy to an existing folder or project – If this option is selected, then,
          i. Identify the existing destination Project folder where the required folder is to be moved to.
         ii. Click the destination folder.

The Copy button at the bottom of the page becomes active.

  1. Click Copy.

The required folder, with content, is copied into the destination folder, and now exists in the original location and, as a duplicate, in the new location. The Copy page closes and the list of Projects in the Projects tab appears.

  1. Delete the original Project folder and contents. Leaving the Project and content in the destination folder as the only available copy.